team members

Principal Investigator, Professor Frede Blaabjerg

The project will be led by Professor Frede Blaabjerg, who has more than twenty years of experience in the power electronics technology and its application – both seen from a power generation, power system and from a power electronic interfaced load perspective.


Prof. Frede Blaabjerg was employed at ABB-Scandia, Randers, from 1987-1988. During 1988-1992 he was a PhD. student at Aalborg University, Denmark, then became Assistant Profes¬sor in 1992, Associate Professor in 1996 and full professor in power electronics and drives in 1998 the same place. He has been part-time research program leader at Research Center Risoe in electrical design of wind turbines.

Since 2006 he has been Editor in Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics but this term ends in 2012. He was Distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Power Electronics Society from 2005 to 2007 and for the IEEE Industry Applications Society from 2010 to 2011. He has received more than 20 national and international awards including being IEEE fellow and has published substantially in journals and at conferences with high impact.


Professor Claus Leth Bak

Professor Claus Leth Bak, Aalborg University, is a specialist in power system components and he has for many years been working with high-frequency modeling of cables and power lines. His activities will contribute to “Harmony” in which he also will have supervisor duties.


Professor Claus Leth Bak received the B.Sc. with honors in Electrical Power Engineering in 1992 and the M.Sc. in Electrical Power Engineering at the Department of Energy Technology at Aalborg University in 1994. After his studies he worked as a professional engineer with Electric Power Transmission and Substations with specializations within the area of Power System Protection at the NV Net Transmission Company.

He is the author/co-author of +70 publications. He is a member of Cigré C4.502, Cigré SC C4 and Danish Cigré National Committee. He is also an IEEE senior member.



Associate Professor Xiongfei Wang is a specialist in modeling, stability analysis and control of grid-interactive power electronics systems. He is a co-leader of the Harmony project and responsible for harmonic modeling and stability analysis of power electronic based power systems.


Associate Professor Xiongfei Wang received the PhD degree in energy technology from Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark in 2013, where he is currently an Associate Professor with the Department of Energy Technology and the leader of Research Programme on Electronic Power Grid Infrastructure. His research interests include dynamic modeling of power electronics converters, harmonics analysis and mitigation, stability and control of power-electronic-based power systems.

He has contributed +70 IEEE journal articles and +100 IEEE conference papers. In 2016, he was elected into Aalborg University Talent Management Program as one of 18 top young talents for next-generation research leaders. He received 4 IEEE prize paper awards, and the outstanding reviewer award of IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics. He serves as the Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics, the IEEE Transactions on Industry Applications, and the IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics (JESTPE). He was the Technical Program Chair for IEEE eT&D 2017, which is a new industry-focused workshop launched by IEEE PELS and PES.


Team members